On one screen are neurons on which are measures electzric currents, on the other screen these currents are displayed

The Neuroscience Research Center (NWFZ) - Interdisciplinary science on functional units of nervous systems

The Neuroscience Research Center has helped establish the neurosciences as a scientific focus area and strengthened the profile of the Charité externally. Its members, through their initiatives and participation in collaborative projects have created lasting structures for the neurosciences in Berlin.

Special mention should be made of the close connection between the NWFZ and the Cluster of Excellence NeuroCure, particularly as many former and current members of the NWFZ played a key role in NeuroCure's success.

Scientists of the NWFZ have also been involved, among other things, in establishing the Berlin site of the German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE) and were recently successful in acquiring funding for the Einstein Center for Neurosciences Berlin (ECN).

Auf einem Bildschirm sieht man Nervenzellen, von denen Ströme abgeleitet werden.  Auf einem andere Bildschirm werden die abgeleiteten Ströme dargestellt.

Neurowissenschaftliches Forschungszentrum (NWFZ) – interdisziplinäre Wissenschaft zu Funktionseinheiten von Nervensystemen

 Das NWFZ dient der wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunktbildung im neurowissenschaftlichen Bereich und stärkt die Profilbildung der Charité nach außen. Seine Mitglieder schufen und schaffen durch die Initiierung bzw. Beteiligung an Verbundprojekten nachhaltige Strukturen für den neurowissenschaftlichen Standort Berlin.

Besonders hervorzuheben ist die enge Verknüpfung mit dem Exzellenzcluster NeuroCure, an dessen Erfolg viele der ehemaligen und aktuellen Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen des NWFZ beteiligt sind.  

Wissenschaftler des NWFZ waren unter anderem auch an der Gründung eines neuen Standortes des Deutschen Zentrums für Neurodegenerative Erkrankungen (DZNE) an der Charité beteiligt und konnten kürzlich erfolgreich das Einstein Zentrum für Neurowissenschaften (ECN) einwerben.